I love sushi and any type of ocean food. And I won’t let anything stop me from eating what I love until it’s no longer available. This is and will be the problem for the future sea food lovers. With a lot going on with the oceans like giant floating islands of trash, little things can change or ultimately affect the oceans complex food chain and then your dinner plate. To assure no one species is singled out for consumption or depleted, people have to be more aware which species are in danger due to a variety of reasons like the seasons. Being aware sometimes to pick the alternative or sometimes not to can make a difference whether or not we have our favorite sea food dish in supply for next seasons catch. Even though quotas on websites are set to regulate and easy iPhone and android phone apps now tell you up-to-date information, it rests on the community to ultimately be responsible. This squid represents the Consumers and our choices. “Don’t ink the oceans. keep it sustainable.”Promote healthy oceans and protect fish reserves from overfishing!

This piece was actually really fun to make while I watched the Disney shows on Netflix. I wish I took a picture of how the living room looked like at the time I was working on this project. The area was all occupied and laid out with tools and materials. A little dangerous since I had a lot of pins and needles but I made sure to put them right on top of my white board so it would be plain easy to spot. Working with fabric was still new to me but it was so easy to work with. The hardest part of the project was making the arms as they needed to be of all the right length and stay together with the main body of the squid. I used electrical tape to slowly bend and shape the curve of each arm. I used a folding technique to replicate the shape of the main body of the squid so it would look more realistic. Once everything came together or stayed together, it was done and ready for the photo set. The photo set this time again was in the bathtub.

Here’s a link to help us out.

http://www.montereybayaquarium.org/cr/seafoodwatch.aspx

 

Comments
  1. todays date says:

    i wish i had more dressy clothes , im always wearin graphic tees

  2. Wohh precisely what I was searching for, thank you for putting up.

    • sicklabz says:

      It was so much fun making the squid. I’m happy to hear you found the subject you were looking for. It is one I just had to write about. It was a gut feeling. 😉

      jet

Leave a Reply

