Lego

These glossy colored plastic blocks can make an imaginary city so complex. A sky scraper in the center that reaches as high as your imagination can reach. The tower needing maintenance as you stacked ever higher. Tension between the base and top became less negotiable every stage higher. Being on edge you become diligent. You did what you can to neutralize with some modification. Tolerance with you and the structure become one of the same as you start to tippy toe. A little retrofit here and there before it became volatile. Always pushing its threshold, always tempering, and constantly testing limitations.

You decide to let loose of all the pressures. This time around no protocol. Instead a sudden demolition. An even better method. Usually a collapse that was very calculated. Followed by a loud crash of parts that was assisted by your own made up artificial sounds. Then an extra smack or so to finish off what was still standing. All that build up ending with what became a huge clean up site.

You hear mom in the background from down the stairs. “Time to eat. Clean up please!”.
You knew it meant a little maintenance.

This is not just that typical toy from a box. Definitely not an ordinary toy in a child’s fingertips. No rules, just that they had to stack or connect together. So painful to step on now but was a love affair with discovery then.

I’ve always thought Lego blocks were awesome to play with. I like the idea of stacking them as high as possible before it all collapsed. I created forts, bridges, and any object conceivable. This project brought me back to my childhood and gave me a reason to enjoy playtime once again. Once I was finished with my project it went to someone who would enjoy it even more.

 

Comments
  1. Some really great articles on this internet site , regards for contribution.

  2. This is the right blog for anyone who wants to find out about this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!

    • sicklabz says:

      I realised after writing this that there is a great amount of materiel already written on the subject. I did before hand had an idea that this was the case. so I just told myself if I had made the article very personal that it wouldn’t sound just like another. My very own and that’s never arguable!

      I’m so happy you enjoyed my own personal spin on the subject. Thank you for giving it a chance.

      jet

Leave a Reply

